top of page

2 Annoying things with iMessage texters

(This is my first post, and I'm so excited for the time to come with these blogs. I hope you enjoy!)

iMessage is the cool new way to text. Do you want to know why? Well, I'll tell you.

If you have an iPhone, you'll understand exactly what I'm talking about.

There are settings you can turn on and off which are called Read Receipts and Responding Bubbles. Makes life a whole lot easier, but there are some downfalls to them.

In case you didn't know:

Read Receipts will tell the person when you read the text.

Responding Bubbles will tell the person when you're texting back.

Now, I'm a big believer in turning both settings on; but some people aren't.

When I’m texting somebody the top 2 most annoying things that happen includes these settings--especially the read receipts.

One of the first thing is when the person I'm texting doesn't have the read receipts on and doesn't respond. Then I'm stuck thinking with my phone in hand thinking: "Should I change the subject?"; "Are they going to text back?"; "Is this person ignoring me?". But then *usually* the person will text back saying they were busy and they apologize. The worrying for nothing--thankfully.

The other annoying thing is almost exactly the same as the first one but the difference is it becomes more personal because you're being ignored. The text says “read as” and has no reply. Then you text them again to find it read with no reply AGAIN. This can even go on for days (or hours depending). Now I know this happens to all of us, it has became a common relatable thing, but it's still so annoying!

On the plus side to problem two, is I know they got my text. However, on the other hand, I know I'm being ignored. This method of ignoring is the best (most annoying) way to ignore someone out there. Well besides ignoring the person in actual life, but what's that? I only know about the Internet.

In all actuality, if you're ignoring someone, the person will figure it out pretty quickly and get upset. On a more positive note, the person gets the gist of it--you don't want to talk to them. This can be a good thing in the sense of having no mixed messages (or feelings). But be careful when doing this because feelings are delicate.

And if you're not ignoring someone, then the person will know you got the text and will wait for you to respond. This is where the responding bubbles come in handy.

Now remember, these settings turned off or on doesn't affect who you are. A person may get annoyed with your phone preferences at the time, but deep down it doesn't matter because you're still a friend of theirs.

I hope you were able to relate to this; and if you have any comments or anything else you'd like to add, comment it below!

Remember I post every other Sunday @2 pm EST if you’d like to read more of my blogs :)

Have a nice rest of your day!

Recent Blog Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recents in Reading Corner
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive

Subscribe For More

bottom of page