top of page

Journaling Through Booktube-A-Thon

Booktube-A-Thon has ended! If you haven't read “Booktube-A-Thon 2015”, you should check that blog post out. It’s all about what Booktube-A-Thon is, books I planned on reading, and other things of the sort. This post may not make sense if you haven’t read the previous one. To read the previous one, click here.

I read a total of 2.5 books during the reading marathon. It wasn’t my goal of four books, but I still read. That’s what I feel counts; not exactly the numbers but the experience.

I read:

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Pretties by Scott Westerfeld

Cloaked by Alex Flinn (which I read half of)

I also completed two book challenges:

I completed the challenge, “read the book I last acquired” by reading Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

and

I also completed the challenge of, “a book I really wanted to read” by reading Pretties by Scott Westerfeld.

I tried the challenge, " to finish a book without letting go of it,” but failed. I was reading Cloaked by Alex Flinn for six hours. In that six hours, I ate food, went to the bathroom, and even took a nap without letting go of the book! That book and I got pretty close. Then when I was eating a snack, which is the easiest thing to do with a book, I accidentally let go of it! I was about halfway through the book when I let go!

Monday was my strong reading day. I stayed up until 12:10 am finishing my first book, which was Me and Earl and the Dying Girl. (If you’d like a book review, say so in the comment section.)

I started my week of reading strong, but throughout the week it became weaker. By Sunday, I only read for 30 minutes. I also became more busy as the week went on, so that had part to do with less reading.

I did participate in Twitter Sprints (this is where you read as much as you can for a set amount of time) and Instagram Challenges (where you have picture themes). Both of these activities you can win books from; but with my luck, I didn’t win any books. It was just super fun to be apart of it.

Twitter Sprints:

I did many twitter sprints, usually the night reading ones. These were so much fun to participate in because there was a good community of readers. One of my tweets even got retweeted by the Booktube-A-Thon twitter account! You can just sense the community reading it.

(Picture below is Booktube-A-Thon's retweet of my comment and the picture to the right is the content which was retweeted.)

Instagram Challenges:

For the Instagram Challenges, I only participated in one. This challenge was to “post a picture of a book surrounded by items that relate to the book”. All the entries for this challenge were so creative and chic. Here was what my picture entry was:

Overall, I had a great time participating in Booktube-A-Thon and I am super excited for next years Booktube-A-Thon and other readathons coming up! The books I didn’t get a chance to read during this time, I will be reading sometime soon.

Have you ever participated in a readathon?

I’d love to hear if you have and what it was like for you.

Start a conversation in the comment section!

Remember I post every other Sunday @2 pm EST if you’d like to read more of my blogs! :) You might forget--we’re all human--but you can stay on top of it all when you sign up for my newsletter. I will be sharing with you the posts over a month.

Have a nice rest of your day and I will see you next week!

Recent Blog Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recents in Reading Corner
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive

Subscribe For More

bottom of page