top of page

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare wasn't my favorite book. There’s a lot of hype for this book

series, but I guess I’m not a part of that hype. Sorry Mortal Instrument fans; I'm going to be giving you my honest opinion.

When I was reading this book, I didn’t know what kept me reading. It definitely wasn't Cassandra Clare's writing style. I'd say she isn't that great of a writer; the only thing she has going for her is the unexpected plot line. I do have to admit that the general plot was interesting--and I liked it. I would recommend that you at least try reading the book. Confusing terms and confusing character motivations bugged me throughout the book, but if you aren’t a picky reader, you would really enjoy it.

If you haven't read this book, I do recommend you leave now; I'm getting into the spoiler section.

Okay, seriously...... Leave.

Hello actual readers of this book! Now, to get on with what I was saying about it.

I enjoyed the plot line; however, it became confusing multiple times. It wasn't just me forgetting things throughout the book. I asked multiple friends who read the book, and they felt the same way. Forgetting is a pretty normal thing when reading a lengthy book over a long period of time. Cassandra could have given the readers “refreshers” of some terms unique to the book. Many times, I had to go back over 50 pages to try and understand what these unique terms were. These terms were usually about types of knifes, demons, and different types of downworlders.

Not only did I get confused with terms, but I also got confused with the plot--specifically character motivations. In the end of the book, there is a “break up” between Clary and Simon. Cassandra Clare made it seem that it was all over between them, when in the end it wasn’t completely. Simon began loving Maia romantically in place of Clary; but he still claimed to love Clary as a friend. It was just Simon and Clary weren’t compatible, Simon being a vampire and Clary a shadowhunter. I found this part of the book confusing. I was thinking, “Where did this sudden romance come from?”.

As the reader, I didn’t identify the motivation for Simon to “breakup” with Clary. Yes, there was tension mid-book due to confusing love between Clary liking Jace and Simon; but, when the book was ending, Clary chose Simon and they were happy.

This confusing “breakup” aside, Cassandra Clare also didn’t leave the readers with enough suspense in the end to keep reading the series. The ending tone of the book was, in my opinion, calm.

Due to the calmness, confusing terms, and confusing character motivations, I did not continue the series.

I hope you enjoyed this weeks post.

Did you read this book and agree with opinion?

Or did you read this book and totally disagree with what I had to say?

Let me know in the comment section!

I’d love to hear what you have to say.

Remember I post every Sunday @2 pm EST if you’d like to read more of my blogs! :) You might forget--we’re all human--but you can stay on top of it all when you sign up for my weekly newsletter. I will be sharing with you the week’s post and other fun things of the sort.

Have a nice rest of your day!

Recent Blog Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recents in Reading Corner
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive

Subscribe For More

bottom of page