top of page

How Old is a Worm?

Have you ever bought a container of earthworms to go fishing?

What about keeping those same worms for 4 months after?

Well, that's what happened in my case. My family and I went camping, and my favorite thing

took place: fishing. Inevitably we bought worms; sad to say that the fish weren't biting, and we left the next day with a pretty full container of worms.

When we arrived home the first thing we did was unpack. The second thing we did was to put the worms in the fridge. We thought it was a good idea--putting them back in the fridge I mean. When you buy them from a store they’re in a fridge so why not put them in a fridge again?

The worms practically got lost in our fridge and was discovered a month later. We moved the worms from the styrofoam container that they initially came in, to an old plastic container. The worms were forgotten for a second time until discovered again three months later. These worms were still alive!

The worms were still alive after a total of four months in our fridge! Made me start to wonder how long the worms would have lived if we didn't use them again to go fishing.

I found out that, depending on the breed of worm, the average life expectancy of a earthworm is 4-8 years. Crazy! However, most worms don't make it past their first year. This is due to being eaten by predators or killed some other way like on my hook while fishing.

Here is another cool fact about worms:

South African earthworms can grow fairly long--22 feet long! Longest worm ever recorded was 22 feet and found roadside in 1967.

Did you know this about worms?

Let me know how you reacted to it in the comment section!

Resources used to help support this article:

Photo used:

Remember I post every other Sunday @2 pm EST if you’d like to read more of my blogs! :) You might forget--we’re all human--but you can stay on top of it all when you sign up for my newsletter. I will be sharing with you the posts over a month.

Have a nice rest of your day

Recent Blog Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recents in Reading Corner
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive

Subscribe For More

bottom of page